69% of adults in the United States are overweight or obese.1  What’s more, the typical American diet exceeds the recommended intake levels for fat, sugar, refined grains, and sodium, and falls short in vegetables, fruits, whole grains, dairy products, and healthy oils.2  It’s no wonder clinicians are becoming increasingly interested in dietary intervention.

Obtaining the Certified Culinary Medicine Specialist (CCMS) certification provides clinicians with the comprehensive knowledge and unique perspective to deliver the most informed, practical, and effective nutritional counseling for their patients.

All candidates for certification and recertification must be licensed to practice in the United States or Canada as a:

  • Physician (MD or DO)
  • Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN)
  • Nurse Practitioner (NP)
  • Registered Nurse (RN)
  • Physician Assistant (PA)
  • Registered Dietitian (RD)
  • Pharmacist (PharmD or RPh)
  • Certified Diabetes Educator (CDE)


[1] http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/obesity-overweight.htm       [2] http://www.fitness.gov/resource-center/facts-and-statistics/